World Cup 2022 Live Blog, Day 5: Updates, goals, highlights

WELCOME TO MATCH 5 OF THE WORLD CUP!!! What a fantastic start to the tournament, with big surprises, some incredible team performances and loads of goals in the first four games. And the final eight teams yet to debut all play for the first time in what is shaping up to be an outstanding Day 5 in Qatar.

It all starts in Al Wakrah with a fascinating match between Switzerland and Cameroon, who kick off the action in a very deep group G. The Swiss have had talent and enjoyment in international competition for nearly a decade now, and this may just be their best, deepest team ever. But Cameroon also have plenty of talent in some of the best squads and leagues in the world, and this promises to be a physical and offensive battle to start the day off right.

Next up is the Group H opener in Ar-Rayyan, with Ronald Araujo’s Uruguay taking on South Korea. Araujo hasn’t played for Barça since sustaining an injury that required surgery while playing with Uruguay, but the defender worked very hard to make himself available for the tournament. There is a chance he will play as early as today, which is very premature based on the nature of his injury, but all Barça fans can do is hope he avoids making the problem worse. Even without Araujo though, Uruguay are more than capable of going deep into the tournament with his talent in midfield and up front. South Korea continues to improve internationally and Son Heung-Min is their hope for an upset in a very interesting group.

The third match of the day takes place in Doha with the debut of one of the big favorites as Portugal take on Ghana. The Portuguese are hoping to bounce back from their poor performance at last year’s Euros and have an obvious talisman that we need hardly mention. He also has loads of talent around him, including Barça transfer target Bernardo Silva who has a real chance of being one of the players of the tournament if Portugal go the distance.

Finally, Raphinha’s Brazil faces Serbia in Lusail in the group stage replay of the 2018 World Cup. Selection they are in the shortlist of favourites, but getting out of their group will not be an easy task. And the Serbs are as tough an opponent as Brazil could have asked for with their physicality and attacking talent. This could be one of the best games of the group stage and Brazil need to get all three points to avoid the drama of qualifying.

This is going to be a fun day and we invite you to join us to follow and comment on all the action. Let’s go!


LIVE BLOG


FORMATIONS

Brazil XI: Alison; Danilo, Marquinhos, Silva, Sandro; Casemirò; Raphinha, Paquetá, Neymar, Vinicius; Richardson (4-1-4-1)

Serbia XI: Milinkovic-Savic; Veljkovic, Milenkovic, Pavlovic; Zivkovic, Milinkovic-Savic, Gudelj, Lukic, Mladenovic; Tadic; Mitrovic (3-5-1-1)

MATCH INFORMATION

Competition/Tour: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group G, Matchday 1

Appointment: Thursday, November 24, 2022, 10:00 pm local time, 8:00 pm CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 7:00 pm GMT (UK), 2:00 pm ET, 11:00 am PT (USA), 12:30 am IST (India, Friday)

Place: Lusail Stadium, Al Dayyan, Qatar

Referee: Alireza Faghani (IRN)

HOW TO STREAM THE FIFA WORLD CUP 2022

Like watching on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), BBC One (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


FORMATIONS

Portugal XI: It costs; Cancelo, Dias, Danilo, Guerreiro; Bernardo, Neves, Fernandes; Otavio, Ronaldo, Felix (4-3-3)

GhanaXI: Ati Zigi; Seidu, Amartey, Djiku, Salisu, Baba; Kudus, Samed, Partey, Ayew; Williams (5-4-1)

MATCH INFORMATION

Competition/Tour: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group H, Matchday 1

Appointment: Thursday, November 24, 2022, 7:00 pm local time, 5:00 pm CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 4:00 pm GMT (UK), 11:00 am ET, 8:00 am PT (USA), 9:30 pm IST (India)

Place: 974 Stadium, Doha, Qatar

Referee: Ismail Elfath (United States)

HOW TO STREAM THE FIFA WORLD CUP 2022

Like watching on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), ITV Hub (UK), others


FORMATIONS

Uruguay XI: Spool; Cáceres, Giménez, Godín, Olivera; Valverde, Vecino, Bentancur, Pellistri; Suarez, Núñez (4-4-2)

South Korea XII: Kim SG; Kim MH, Kim MJ, Kim YG, Kim JS; Hwang IB, Jung; Na, Lee, son; Hwang HC (4-2-3-1)

MATCH INFORMATION

Competition/Tour: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group H, Matchday 1

Appointment: Thursday, November 24, 2022, 4:00 pm local time, 2:00 pm CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 1:00 pm GMT (UK), 8:00 am ET, 5:00 am PT (USA), 6:30 pm IST (India)

Place: Education City Stadium, Doha, Qatar

Referee: Clement Turpin (FRA)

HOW TO STREAM THE FIFA WORLD CUP 2022

Like watching on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), BBC One (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), BBC iPlayer (UK), others


FORMATIONS

Cameroon XI: Onana; Fai, Castelletto, N’Koulou, Tolo; Anguissa, Gouet, Hongla; Mbeumo, Choupo-Moting, Ekambi (4-3-3)

MATCH INFORMATION

Competition/Tour: FIFA World Cup 2022, Group G, Matchday 1

Appointment: Thursday, November 24, 2022, 1:00pm local time, 11:00am CET/WAT (Barcelona and Nigeria), 10:00am GMT (UK), 5:00am ET, 2:00am PT (USA), 3:30pm IST (India)

Place: Al Janoub Stadium, Al Wakrah, Qatar

Referee: Facundo Tello (ARG)

HOW TO STREAM THE FIFA WORLD CUP 2022

Like watching on TV: FS1 (USA), TSN 1 (Canada), ITV 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Sports18 (India), Gol Mundial (Spain), others

How to watch online: FOX Sports App, Sling TV (US), ITV Hub (UK), others


Thread rules of the day

We don’t have many rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our threads of the day:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, look at the oath. It’s just useless. Also, do not discuss illegal streaming links. Anyone who does will be warned, and those who post links will be banned immediately. In the end, be kind to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend each other.

Have fun with the game! Forever, regardless of the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!

Leave a Comment