Canadian Climbing National Championships Start Today—Here’s How to Watch Live

The Canadian Senior Boulder and Lead Championships begin today. The event is operated by Climbing Escalade Canada (CEC) and is held at two gyms in Ontario: Boulderz in Etobicoke for the bouldering competition and The Hub in Mississauga for the main competition. In bouldering, 135 climbers (71 women and 64 men) will compete. At the top, 105 will be competing (52 women and 53 men).

CEC is the national governing body for competitive climbing in Canada, as recognized by the Canadian Olympic Committee and the International Sport Climbing Federation (IFSC). Results from this event contribute to national athlete rankings, which ultimately determine who is invited to join the National High Performance Program (HPP) and represent Canada in IFSC World Cup and Olympic competition.

Women’s field

In bouldering, podium favorites include Madison Fischer, Evangelina Briggs and Babette Roy. All three are members of the HPP. Fischer ranks first nationally in women’s bouldering. She also won bronze at last year’s bouldering nationals. Briggs won gold at last year’s competition and is currently ranked sixth in bouldering in Canada. Roy is in fifth place.

The women’s lead climbers face arguably the stiffest group of competitors, leaving it highly uncertain who will make the podium. Five HPP members are competing, including Babette Roy, Emi Takashiba, Sophie Buitendyk and Madison Fischer. Youth A Female champion Alexa Vanier will also participate, as will second climber Chloe Earle.

Fellow HPP members Alannah Yip, Indiana Chapman and Paige Boklaschuk will not participate in either the bouldering or lead events.

Men’s field

In bouldering, Guy McNamee and Zach Richardson are the climbers to watch for podium finishes. Both are HPP members. McNamee is third nationally, Richardson fifth. The other male HPP athletes are barred from this year’s nationals, including champions Sean McColl, Lucas Uchida and Victor Baudrand. Uchida is helping prepare for the comp.

The Kindar brothers and Guy McNamee are some of the favorites for the leading podium. Both are in the HPP. Kindar ranks sixth nationally, while Guy ranks eighth. It will also be interesting to see how Youth A and B champions Dylan Le and Evan Lau fare in this senior competition. The top five nationally ranked leading climbers and HPP members will not compete.

How and when to watch

Bouldering qualifiers are held today, semi-finals and finals tomorrow, Friday 25 November. Saturday is a rest day as many climbers compete in both boulder and lead. The main qualifiers will take place on Sunday 27 November. On the final day of the competition, Monday November 28, the Semi-Finals and Main Finals will wrap up the event.

The qualifiers, semi-finals and finals will be streamed live on the Climbing Escalade Canada YouTube page. The YouTube live stream schedule is listed below:

Bouldering Qualifications – Thursday, November 24 – 8:30am EST (5:30am PST)
Bouldering Semifinals – Friday, November 25 – 9am EST (6am PST)
Bouldering Finals – Friday, November 25 – 3:45pm EST (12:45pm PST)
Main Qualifiers – Sunday, November 27 – 9am EST (6am PST)
Main semifinals – Monday, November 28 – 10:30am EST (7:30am PST)
Lead endings – Monday, November 28 – 5:30pm EST (2:30pm PST)

We’ll be covering the results throughout the week, so be sure to come back to Gripped Indoor Climbing for the latest results.

Leave a Comment